Posting on behalf of Steve K.
Is it possible to move a VM to a new VPG without losing the journal history for that VM?
This is Yaron from Zerto.
When you unprotect a VM from a VPG you have the option to save the recovery disks.
Removing the VM from the VPG would results the journal being deleted in any decision, meaning if I choose to keep the recovery disks or not the journal will be deleted any way.
Hence you cant use a VM’s journal once it has been unprotected and must be populated again after the Initial-sync\Delta-sync will complete.