• This topic has 4 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated April 16, 2023 by Will J.

Ransomware

• Hello All,

I needed your expert opinion on the below:

As I am new to Zerto, please excuse my inane questions.

So Zerto’s platform protects our systems with minimal data loss and downtime after a ransomware attack but doesn’t offer any capabilities to detect a ransomware threat. Following a ransomware attack, how can we reduce the risk on Zerto being exploited?

Also going through the release notes for 9.x , the Zerto update adds ransomware defence where its rolled out immutability for Amazon S3 and rapid VM recovery as anti-ransomware measures, so i am keen to know if there are any such features available to protect our on-prem VMware environment?

Second enquiry, I wanted to know the recommended frequency of DR tests;
    While I am aware that disaster recovery testing should be a component of a business’s business continuity planning, I’m curious about your recommendations.

Thank You

Hi Nik

for recommendations on securing your Zerto environment please use this guide :

https://help.zerto.com/bundle/Security.Hardening.HTML.90/page/Content/Security_Hardening/Security_and_Hardening_With_Zerto.htm

The features you mention are available for your VMware environment! – Zerto can use an offsite long term retention repository in this case Amazon S3 an utilize immutability to store your on-prem VMware VM’s in S3 away from production and out of harms way in an immutable format – this is also available for S3 compatible devices that you may have on-premises already – please check out interoperability matrix for more details :

https://help.zerto.com/bundle/Zerto_Interoperability_Matrix/resource/Zerto_Interoperability_Matrix.pdf