For a vpg that is running do i just delete it? I created one and want to ensure it does not affect the server.
It seems that your inquiry is not about long term retention.
If this is about VPG and the included VM, please kindly refer to the following content:
The removal of a VPG doesn’t affect the protected VM.
When removing the VPG, the related change might be on the recovery site, but not the production site’s source VM.
The admin can choose whether the recovery disk should be kept on the recovery site, when VPG removal.