■ When you specify reverse protection, the virtual machines are moved to the recovery site and then protected using the values specified during the move. Data is promoted from the journal to the moved virtual machines and then synchronization with the original site is performed so that the VPG is fully protected. The synchronization performed uses the original protected disks and is either a Delta Sync or, if there is only one volume to synchronize, a Volume Delta Sync. A sync is required since the recovered machines can be updated while data is being promoted.
■ If you do not specify reverse protection, the protected disks are removed along with the protected virtual machines at the end of the procedure. In this case, if you want to move the virtual machines back again to the original site, you will not be able to use the original disks and an initial synchronization will have to be performed. The VPG definition is kept with the status Needs Configuration and the reverse settings in the VPG definition are not set.
➨ If reverse protection is specified, the Keep Source VMs option is grayed out because the virtual disks of the VMs are used for replication and cannot have VMs attached.
➨ If Keep Source VMs is selected before reverse protection is specified, the Keep Source VMs selection is canceled.
➨ If Keep Source VMs is not selected, and virtual machines or vCD vApp are already protected in several VPGs, the virtual machines or vCD vApp are deleted from the protected site. This will result in the removal of these virtual machines from other VPGs that are protecting them and to the journals of these VPGs to be reset. In the event of vCD vApp or if no other virtual machines are left to protect, the entire VPG will be removed.