Article number
Affected Versions
Source Hypervisor
Target Hypervisor

How to Determine which Disk Types are Supported in Azure

Viewed 435 times


An administrator may need to know which disk types are supported in Azure for replication with Zerto.


NOTE: Starting in version 7.5, Zerto only supports the creation of managed disks upon recovery operations.

Managed disk types are:

  1. Standard HDD:
    1. Standard HDD Disks store the data on Hard Disk Drivers (HDD). 
    2. Delivers reliable, low- cost disk support for virtual machines. 
  2. Standard SSD:
    1. Standard SSD Disks, are low-cost SSD offerings, which are optimized for workloads requiring consistent latency.
    2. Standard SSD Disks deliver lower latency compared to Standard HDDs while improving reliability and scalability for applications. 
  3. Premium SSD:
    1. Premium SSD Disks delivers high-performance Solid State Drive (SSD), which are based Storage designed to support I/O intensive workloads with significantly high throughput and low latency for virtual machines. 

To Azure:

Supported Azure managed disk storage types: 

  1. Managed Standard HDD
  2. Managed Premium SSD
  3. Managed Standard SSD

From Azure:

Starting in version 7.5, the reflection collection contains all the VMs on the site. Zerto collects all storage accounts, VMs, disks etc. in the costumer’s region.

For each disk which is now collected, the disk storage types are:

Unmanaged disks:

  1. Azure Unmanaged Standard HDD
  2. Azure Unmanaged Premium HDD

Managed disks:

  1. Azure Managed Standard HDD
  2. Azure Managed Standard SSD
  3. Azure Managed Premium SSD
  4. Azure Managed Ultra SSD  (NOTE: Zerto cannot protect a VM with this disk type in use.)

When creating a VPG, the VMs’ list contains only VMs that utilize managed disks, since all other disks are filtered out.

Filter potential VMs flow:

  1. The potential VMs list is always generated on the protected site.
  2. If the Update wizard is opened from the recovery site, a remote call initiates to retrieve the list from the protected site.
  3. On the protected site, Zerto obtains all of the local VMs from the reflection.
  4. For each VM, Zerto calls a filtering mechanism that starts by filtering out VMs that are not allowed for protection by Zerto rules (for example: The VM is a VRA, a test VM etc.)
  5. Finally, Zerto filters out VMs that are not allowed for protection by Platform rules (The VM has an unmanaged disk, ultra disk etc.)